Tonga to Continue Chair of Pacific SIDS Group for year 2016

The Pacific Small Island Developing States, a UN Grouping composed of the 12 Pacific Island States with representation at the UN, will again be chaired by the Kingdom of Tonga for 2016.

The members of the group are:  the Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

In 2015, the PSIDS were active participants in crafting the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, and the Addis Ababa Action Agenda for financing for development. The group now looks forward to reaching an ambitious agreement on climate change in Paris at the 21st Conference of the Parties to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change, and will work hard to implement its sustainable development priorities in 2016.